8 Things My Mom Taught Me That I’ll Pass On To My Own Children

There are certain things your mom will tell you while growing up that always stick with you for one reason or another, These 8 things made an impression on me, and I will be sure to pass them along to my own kids one day.

Whether we were going off to college, having trouble with a friend, or just feeling low, my mom always made sure i knew that my family was there for me.

 

If you say something, you better mean it. My mom told me that going back on your word lowers your character. If someone says something, you need to be able to trust that what they say is true. Once you break that trust, no one will believe anything that comes out of your mouth anymore.

 

It is one thing to be smart with your money, but it is another thing to be cheap. My mom taught me the importance of being generous. Neither one of my parents came from a lot of money. They worked hard for what they have today. Be generous and money will come.

 

My mom knew that i deserved the best. Whether it came to relationships, jobs or anything else, my mom always told me not to settle. If I was no longer happy at work, my mom told me maybe it was time to move on to something bigger and better. 

 

Not everyone is as fortunate as you are.It is easy to get caught up in your little bubble of a life. That is why it is so important to take a step outside and realize that there are so many things going on that you don’t see on a regular basis. I am lucky to live the life I live, but not everyone is so fortunate.

 

Cooking may not be fancy, but it’s always delicious! She has taught me the skills and confidence to try new things and sometimes even know how to save things I royally screw up.

 

Don’t hold on to things that you “might use someday.” A lack of clutter in your life is worth so much more, in terms of mental clarity, focus, and calm than the cost of buying that thing again, should the need actually arise for it (which it probably won’t).

 

If you’re nice to people, you help them out, and you don’t expect anything in return, they will notice you, like you, and want to help you out.  You’d be shocked at who you can make friends with this way.

 

Which was your favourite thing of the above ? Do let me know in the comment section.

Surealscribbiling a.k.a Sruthiraj.

3 thoughts on “8 Things My Mom Taught Me That I’ll Pass On To My Own Children

Leave a Reply

